2013 wrap-up: my year in travel

As we all wave goodbye to 2013, I’m looking back on a year of diverse travel adventures, from rural escapes to beaches to big city cultural experiences. Here’s where life took me this year:

Grand Canyon: I traveled to the south rim and saw the country’s most iconic natural wonder for the first time.

Palm Springs: Our family visited the Coachella Valley for the first time and enjoyed spending an afternoon at the pool…in the middle of winter. I wrote about our trip for Family Rambling.

LA and Anaheim: We made two trips to Southern California this year. Although my daughter had a blast at Disneyland, we also enjoyed our visit to UCLA’s botanical garden.

Overton: I traveled to this small Nevada town to check out the Lost City Museum. This is one of the museum’s highlighted in my article for the August issue of Desert Companion.

Kauai and Oahu: Our big summer vacation took us to Hawaii. We spent most of our time on Kauai, but we also set aside a couple days to explore Oahu. I’d return to Kauai in a heartbeat. (Who wouldn’t?)

Chicago: I’ve gone to Chicago more times than I can count, however, this trip was particularly memorable. Pearl Jam at Wrigley Field doesn’t happen every day.

Phoenix/Scottsdale: To celebrate the end of a great summer, my family spent a weekend in Scottsdale hanging out by the pool at the FireSky Resort.

St. Louis and Columbia: Over the Thanksgiving holiday, our family headed back to our hometown of St. Louis to see family and friends. We then made the 90 minute drive to Columbia for a University of Missouri football game.

Of course, I’m already hatching travel plans for 2014. My wishlist includes Joshua Tree National Park, Mount Rushmore, and Portland, OR.

Leave a Reply

