Summer: recent traveling, writing, and reading

A quick quarterly update…

Travel

This summer started with a visit to two states that were new to me: Wyoming and South Dakota. I also spent a few days in Denver watching baseball and holding tarantulas. During a weekend at Disneyland, I rode Big Thunder Mountain Railroad too many times and stood in line for two hours to meet Anna and Elsa of Frozen fame.

Part of living in Las Vegas is serving as a tour guide for family and friends who come to visit. I got to show off some of my favorite Las Vegas sights this summer including the High Roller and the Bellagio Fountains.

Writing

My short story “Deficit” was published by Black Denim Lit in June, and my science fiction story “Addition and Extraction” was included in the August issue of Beyond Imagination Digital Literary Magazine. My flash fiction appeared in Microfiction Monday, Nailpolish Stories, and The Las Vegan, and I have forthcoming stories in RiverLit (online) and 365 Tomorrows. My summer writing also included travel/lifestyle stories, web/app content, and a couple of movie reviews.

Reading

This is where I have failed over the last three months! I started reading Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter in June and have yet to finish it. I’m enjoying the combination of history and vampire lore, but it is just difficult to find the time to read these days. My goal is to finish the book in the next week or two. After all, I’m pretty sure I’ve used up all of my renewals at the library.

What have you been up to this summer?

2 thoughts on “Summer: recent traveling, writing, and reading

  1. Love your summer adventures – both on the road, and literary!

    Would you believe I’ve read 3 (3!!!) books this summer -and actually enjoyed them all:
    This is Where I Leave You by Jack Tropper
    Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling (As she says “This book will take you two days to read. Did you even see the cover? It’s mostly pink. If you’re reading this book every night for months, something is not right.) Loved it!
    Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple

    Beyond that, I’m now well versed in The Berenstain Bears, which is really the best way to spend a summer.

Leave a Reply

