In Case You Missed It: my story in Foliate Oak

To be honest, it isn’t often that my former role as an art historian intersects with my current life as a freelance writer, traveler, mom, and volunteer. However, sometimes all of those art historical tidbits that are floating around at the back of my brain come in handy.

In September, my flash fiction piece “Inspired by Botticelli’s Primavera” was published in Foliate Oak Literary Magazine. Although the story doesn’t reflect the painting’s mythological theme, the imagery was inspired by one of my favorite paintings. I love the idea of a strong emotional response resulting in a flower-filled vine spilling from one’s mouth. That part of the painting has always stood out to me. In fact, when I studied abroad in Italy and Germany, each student was required to choose one work of art to research. I chose Botticelli’s Primavera. Standing in front of the painting in the Uffizi Gallery to give my presentation became one of my fondest college memories.

If you have a few minutes, I hope you’ll read my story. Just hop over to Foliate Oak’s website: foliateoak.com/sarah-vernetti.html

Leave a Reply

