Fall: recent traveling, writing, and reading

A quarterly update…

Travel

Fall is my favorite time of year to travel, but it’s also the busiest for me and my family. It’s hard to get away while we’re adjusting to the new school-year schedule. However, we did find time to head to St. Louis and central Illinois for a long weekend. We have visited St. Louis many, many times, but this trip featured an added bonus in the form of a Pearl Jam concert. Not a bad way to spend a Friday night in the Midwest.

Writing

I had the opportunity to write travel and lifestyle articles for a couple of local publications this fall. Although fiction-writing is something I really enjoy, it’s always nice to return to my travel-writing roots.

Speaking of fiction, I was lucky enough to have a few stories published recently, including “A Broad Spectrum,” which you can check out at The Las Vegan, and “Inspired by Botticelli’s Primavera,” which appeared in the September issue of Foliate Oak. I also wrote a couple of super-short microfiction pieces for Cuento Magazine and 7×20. After dealing with a bit of writer’s block in late September, I’m happily picking up the pace again this month.

Reading

I finally, finally read The Hunger Games. I might be the last soul on Earth to read the first book of the trilogy, but better late than never. In fact, I enjoyed it enough that I’ve started reading the second book, Catching Fire. And, of course, I’ve been reading lots of short fiction.

Happy Fall!

Leave a Reply

